Street Views: Everyone Loves a Parade

Street Photography: A Kansas City Fiesta

keith kennedy
3 min readSep 8, 2022

--

“Want to be in a parade?”

That’s the question my wife asked me, the morning of the Kansas City, Kansas Central Avenue Parade. I was already planning to walk and take pictures, but suddenly, I was being given a bicycle helmet and a demand to ride with other bicyclists as a parade participant. Unfortunately, carrying two camera bodies and a few lenses forced me to politely decline as there was “work” to be done. Two hours and 3000+ photos later, I can say work was indeed… done.

Flag bearer, representing one of many of the neighborhood’s cultures.
Distracted while trumpeting
Distracted while riding?

The weather was “nice for this time of the year” at 87 degrees F and the neighborhood turned out in full. Both sides of the usually busy main street were lined with lawn and camping chairs, flags, and little kids who were eager to catch the candy that was sure to be tossed from the parade…

--

--

keith kennedy

Polymath, jack of all trades or just really, really bored. You can find more examples of my bored at https://www.keith.one And please, check out my Series!